Philippine Postal Corporation

Address: Magallanes Drive, Liwasang Bonifacio, Brgy. 656-A, Ermita, 1000 Manila City, Metro Manila
Supervising Agency: Office of the President (OP)
Parent GOCC:
GOCC Type: Chartered GOCC

The Philippine postal system has a history spanning over 250 years. The first post office was established in the city of Manila in 1767. It was organized under a new postal district of Spain in 1779, encompassing Manila and the entire Philippine archipelago. In 1783, the postal service was organized in the Philippines-overseas mail from the Philippines was conveyed to Europe by Spanish ships via eastbound routes through Mexico. Later on, the postal district was re-established on December 5, 1837. After a year, Manila became known as a leading center of postal services within Asia. Spain joined the Universal Postal Union in 1875, which was announced in the Philippines two years later.

During the Philippine Revolution, President Emilio Aguinaldo ordered the establishment of a postal service to provide postal services to Filipinos during that time. On September 5, 1902, it was organized as a bureau under the Department of Trade (currently known as Department of Trade and Industry) by virtue of Act No. 426, which was passed by the Philippine Commission. The Philippines finally joined the Universal Postal Union in January 1, 1922 as a sovereign entity.

The Manila Central Post Office Building, the center of the Philippine postal services and the headquarters of then-Bureau of Posts, was completed in 1926. It was destroyed during World War II (1945) but was rebuilt in 1946, after the war.

The Manila Central Post Office located at Liwasang Bonifacio is a neo-classical building designed by two American architects and a Filipino namely: Ralph Doane, Tomas Mapua, and Juan Marcos de Guzman Arellano. The Post Office Building was considered as the grandest building during its time, and is now considered as one of the dominating landmarks in Metro Manila.

With the overhaul of the Philippine bureaucracy in 1987, the Bureau of Post was renamed the Postal Service Office (PSO) by the virtue of Executive Order No. 125 issued by then-President Corazon Aquino on April 13, 1987. It was also that order which placed PSO under the Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC). On April 2, 1992, by virtue of the Republic Act No.7354 issued by then-President Fidel V. Ramos, PSO became a government owned and controlled corporation named as the Philippine Postal Corporation of more commonly known today as PHLPost.


The Philippine Postal Corporation (PHLPost) provides efficient, competitive and on-time delivery of communications, goods and merchandise, and payment services in any Filipino community.


By 2025, PHLPOST is the preferred universal delivery service provider of communications, goods and merchandise, and payment services in every Filipino community.

Core Values

The Core Values of PHLPost are as follows:

Commitment Innovation Teamwork Entrepreneurial Skills Patriotism Integrity Excellence Spirituality

Disclaimer: All data presented above are submitted and provided by the respective GOCC as of under GCG Memorandum Circular 2014-02.
No results found
For questions and clarifications, your Office may coordinate with the Selection and Nomination Division (SND) of the Corporate Standards Office (CSO) at the telephone number (02) 5328-2030 / (02) 5328-1000 locals 309, 322, 320 and 450 or email at
Enabling Law
Articles of Incorporation and By-Laws
    Disclaimer: All data presented above are submitted and provided by the respective GOCC as of under GCG Memorandum Circular 2014-02.
    Validated Performance Scorecard:
    Updated as of 17 April 2024